All the Light We Cannot See

Screenshot_2015-08-20-14-07-56All the Light We Cannot See

by Anthony Doerr

August 2015

I heard about this book quite randomly – I believe from The Skim (an e-newsletter I receive). It looked intriguing so I put it on hold at my library and waited. And waited some more. By the time it became available, about 4 months later, I had actually forgotten about it! It was a kindle book and I only had three weeks to read it, so I dove in fast. I was worried I wouldn’t finish in time, but I had NOTHING to worry about! This book was an engaging page turner. I was hooked from the first chapter. All the Light We Cannot See is about a boy and a girl whose separate paths briefly cross during World War II torn Germany and France. Warner is a young orphan in Germany who is fascinated with radios. His skill with them leads him to serve the führer, albeit hesitantly.  Marie-Laure is a young, blind girl living in France with her father. There is a mythical diamond called the Sea of Flames that weaves steadily throughout the story as well.

What I especially enjoyed about Doerr’s book, was how he chronologically told his story. It was not the typical start at the beginning and tell things as they happen until the end. Rather, he bounced back and forth in time, almost telling two stories at once. He jumps from a few important days in 1944 and the past leading up to those days. Doerr skillfully weaves the timing and characters together into a gripping, fascinating coming of age story about two young people. I really enjoyed the writing style and the story itself. I was sucking into their world and it was hard to come to the end.

Summing it up: I loved the book and I would recommend it!

What do you think?

All the best,

Abbey

2 thoughts on “All the Light We Cannot See

Leave a Reply

