The Search for Delicious

20150907_082844

The Search for Delicious

by Natalie Babbitt

September 2015

“Natalie Babbitt . . . Babbitt . . .oh, Tuck Everlasting! I’m definitely going to check this one out!” That was my thought process in the library when I stumbled across The Search for Delicious.” Side note: I think I have a weakness for books with “delicious” in the title . . .this is the second book in two months with that word in the title and I’ve devoured them both!! I have a very fond place in my heart for books by Natalie Babbitt. I loved Tuck Everlasting and I also loved The Search for Delicious. It was such a short, sweet, lovely story. I got swept away and read it in a day! Her characters’ names are witty and the story mysterious enough to keep you captive through to the end. My personal opinion is that a truly “good” children’s book is one that adults can enjoy as well as kids. I have two sons and I’m pretty choosy with what books I actually buy for them. This book is making it on the list for when they get older! I can’t wait to read it to them or watch them read it for the first time.

One paragraph in this book has gotten me thinking (Babbitt’s books in particular have that effect on me). This quote is from a Dwarf that the main character, Gaylen, comes across during his journey.

?

Why is it that we are so prone to wasting time, when there truly is so little of it? I think about that with my little ones and how precious the time that they’re little is. I try to enjoy each and every moment, because then it is gone. And it’s already gone so fast. I really appreciate and enjoy that Babbitt has little jewels like this in her stories . . .nice reminders about what’s important, even in a lighthearted little book! I hope you get a chance to read this one for yourselves or to your little one(s).

Summing it up: I loved this delightful little book and I absolutely recommend it!

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

