The Witch of Blackbird Pond

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

by Elizabeth George Speare

Spring 2015

As I believe I’ve mentioned before, one of the main reasons for this blog is for me to remember what I’ve read, and more importantly, what I liked/disliked about each book. I apparently have a terrible memory when it comes to remembering the content of a book, though I seem to remember my general impression of it. It’s actually pretty funny (I’m laughing as I write this!) and also terribly annoying (seriously, it’s driving me to blog – ha!). So, before I forget the books I read earlier in the year, I’m going back and writing about them. The Witch of Blackbird Pond is one such book. I read it ravenously this spring. It started with me reading The Sign of the Beaver by the same author. Side note, why do I always blog backwards?! The Sign of the Beaver is on my list to blog and I read that one first. Oh, well, another quirk! 😉 I loved it, so I decided to read more of Speare’s work. I had a vague recollection of reading at least part of The Witch of Blackbird Pond in school, but not loving it. However, as soon as I begin this time, I could. not. stop. Speare creates characters that draw you into their lives and you hunger to learn what happens to them. Even though the main characters are teenagers, and I’m an adult and a mom, I found myself propelled back in time and relating with the characters. I was moved by Kit’s growth from a self-centered girl, to a mature, selfless woman. I appreciated how she tried to help others and think less of herself, even though it didn’t always go well. I really liked the concept of not judging others by outward appearances (what a great lesson). The story takes place in 1687 Connecticut, during the midst of witch hunting. Kit befriends a “witch” and almost comes to her end because of it. I like the tidy, happy ending and reading history through this creative lens. I love Speare and I can’t wait for my boys to read her books! Anyone else a fan?

Summing it up: Loved it! I’d recommend it to kids and adults in a heartbeat.

All the best, Abbey

3 thoughts on “The Witch of Blackbird Pond

  1. Abbey! I loved Witch at Blackbird Pond too!! I have read it with many students through the years. The best thing about your blog is that I have just found it!!!! Thanks! I enjoyed reading through your entries tongiht.. and will look forward to reading many more!!! Keep reading!! D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

