the curious incident of the dog in the night-time

20160125_112327

the curious incident of the dog in the night-time

by Mark Haddon

January 2016

So, I joined another book club with other moms in my town. I’m very excited! The book this month is not one I’d ever heard of before (surprise, surprise), but I got it from the library with no trouble and dove right in (since I only had one week to read it). Well, let’s just say that I did not love this book. I did find aspects of it interesting, but that’s about it. It’s written from the perspective of an autistic boy (that’s the part I found fascinating). I learned a lot and it was very interesting to see how Christopher’s mind worked; from certain colors being “good” and “bad,” to him not understanding figures of speech (because he thinks literally), to needing order in everything. What I did not enjoy was the plot line; from lying, to adultery, to the murder of a dog, to abandonment, to running away, etc, etc. Ugh. And that is my review.

Summing it up: if you find autism interesting and you don’t mind a sad plot, dive right in, otherwise, I’d say give it a pass.

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

