Fluent in 3 Months

 

61xCNLZPG4L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Fluent in 3 Months

by Benny Lewis

March 2016

Last month I did a decent amount of reading, but I didn’t have time to blog about anything. 😦 So, my next several posts are books from last month. One of the things I’m working on with my husband is learning to speak French. He works with a company in France and I’ve studies the language for years, but never worked aggressively with it to make it “stick.” Now that we can learn together and practice speaking it to each other, I’m adding some fluency books to my list. Fluent in 3 Months is the first one I tried and it definitely gave me a lot to think about when it comes to language learning! Lewis begins his book with “busting” all the myths for why an adult can’t learn a new language fluently. This section was awesome and very encouraging to think, “yes, I can learn a new language even though it hasn’t stuck before.” He has lots of tools for learning any language, and details them in his book, but he also references a variety on online tools, including his website, to help you learn any language. I thought one of his best suggestions was in regards to memorization – using mnemonic devices. This is where you use a story or picture or something personal to you to help you remember words. One example he gave was for the word “gare” which means “train station” in French. In a nut shell, he says, gare reminds him of the cartoon, Garfield. So, he created a story about Garfield running to a train station, puffing and sweating because he was late, and making the train just in time! Lewis explains that the crazier the story, the easier it will be to remember the word. Which is true, because I wrote all of that from memory – I think I’ll always remember what gare means! 😉 It’s more work upfront, but it pays off in the end. Overall, Lewis is fun and captivating, and gives very helpful suggestions.

Summing it up: I definitely recommend this book for anyone wanting to learn another language!

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

