Eligible

20160722_104718

Eligible

by Curtis Sittenfeld

July 2016

I consider myself more of a Jane Austen purist, so I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about a “modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice.” And while there were certain updates that I didn’t love, overall I really enjoyed Eligible  and thought Sittenfeld did a remarkable job retelling Austen’s classic. I felt from the first page that it could be Austen if she was writing today . . . I’m very impressed. I was completely caught up in the familiarity of the characters and the plot, but very curious to see how it was modernized. Let me just say that it was a quick read!

Sittenfeld stayed with the heart of the story, using similar, or the same, names and only veering from Pride and Prejudice’s plot on occasion (i.e. Lydia runs off with a transgender man, not Lizzy’s love interest (like Wickham from the original story). I loved how she took the social aspect of the original story and translated it into today’s social norms. For instance, Jane is 39 and unmarried, and Darcy is a well renowned brain surgeon. The book was clever and heartwarming and I simply enjoyed it!

Summing it up: I recommend this book. If you’re more of a purist, it may very well not be your cup of tea, but if you’re not so much of a purist, I think you’d definitely like it. Have any of you read it and if so, what’s your opinion?

All the best, Abbey

3 thoughts on “Eligible

Leave a Reply

