The Return of the Prodigal Son

20161024_145833.jpg

The Return of the Prodigal Son

by Henri J. M. Nouwen

October 2016

I read this book for my book club. I’m not sure I would have pulled it off the shelf, but I really enjoyed reading it. It was short, interesting, and beautifully written. I was a history major in college and one of the skills I learned was how to look at a primary source (like a painting, photo, letter, or document) and expound and explain what it was all about, preferably without adding personal opinion. This is the best way to explain The Return of the Prodigal Son. It was thoughts and observations on Rembrandt’s painting, The Return of the Prodigal Son. I thought that Nouwen brought a lot on insight and made me remember the joys of studying history. He spent a lot of time discussing the Biblical story as well, which was also very interesting. Overall, I learned new things and came away with a better understanding of both the story and the painting. It also gave me the itch to visit art museums again! 😉

Summing it up: if art history or history interests you, you’ll probably really enjoy this little 130 page book!

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

