Miss Rumphius

 

20170207_121550

Miss Rumphius

by Barbara Cooney

Miss Rumphius is a sweet story about making the world a more beautiful place. That message is one I share with my boys and one I think we all should hear and practice. When Miss Rumphius is a girl, her grandfather tells her that the most important thing in life is to make the world more beautiful.

20170207_121617

At first she doesn’t know what she could possibly do because the world is so beautiful already. She grows up to become a librarian and then travels the world. When she is old she finally decides what she can do: she can plant lupine flowers all around, making her home and town more beautiful.

20170207_121646

All the little children in the town come to her and hear her stories, including the narrator, her great-niece, Alice. The last conversation is the sweetest:

“When I grow up,” I tell her, “I too will go to faraway places and come home to live by the sea.”

“That is all very well, little Alice,” says my aunt, “but there is a third thing you must do.”

“What is that?” I ask.

“You must do something to make the world more beautiful.”

“All right,” I say.

But I do not know yet what that can be.

20170207_121704-1

Summing it up: This book is sweet and beautiful. I highly recommend it!

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

