Chronicle of a Last Summer

20170216_161328-1.jpg

Chronicle of a Last Summer

by Yasmine El Rashidi

February 2017

I’m always interested in reading about different times and cultures so when I saw, Chronicle of a Last Summer (a novel about Egypt), I was excited to read it. As much as it was a quick, readable novel, I ultimately felt “meh” about it, which was disappointing. It was very political, and that subject is very hard for me to get into. It was beautifully written though and highlighted three points in the young woman’s life: childhood, young adult, and middle age. It was enjoyable to see her grow and form opinions throughout her life.

Summing it up: It wasn’t my favorite book, but I did enjoy parts. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it.

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

