It Runs In The Family

20170315_134715-1.jpg

It Runs In The Family

by Richard Manning

March 2017

In an attempt to broaden my reading scope, I decided to add some biographies to my reading list. It Runs In The Family intrigued me and it turned out to be a fascinating book. I was most captivated by Manning’s writing. It was enchanting and drew me in throughout the entire book. I did find his style a bit choppy as he jumped from topic to topic a bit haphazardly. Because of that, I found myself putting it down, but then drawn to pick it back up nonetheless. Manning covers a huge range of topics from politics to global warming to religion to family. His memoir covers his journey growing up in a fundamentalist family with a detached father and abusive mother. Manning becomes a journalist, breaking away from his religious upbringing. He draws on his past to learn why he is the way he is: for instance, he suffers from depression and he realizes it’s because feelings of loneliness run on both sides of his family (just manifesting itself differently). I found Manning’s memoir interesting with its broad range of topics, and fascinating with its conclusions.

Summing it up: I thoroughly enjoyed this memoir and recommend it!

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

