Firefly Lane

20170615_144436-1

Firefly Lane

by Kristin Hannah

June 2017

Firefly Lane is the second Kristen Hannah book I’ve read and I really wanted to like it. I liked Home Front (even though it made me cry like a baby) and expected to enjoy this one as well. However, I was disappointed. One of the main characters was a totally narcissist and it basically ruined the book for me. She never changes, which was so unfortunate! The story is of two girls, Kate and Tully, who become best friends in high school and stay friends through ups and downs over the years. The book chronicles their years by the decade. Tully is always only concerned about herself and puts what she wants above everything and everyone. Spoilers: in the end Kate dies of breast cancer and still, Tully is so concerned about herself that she doesn’t even go into the church for the funeral!

Honestly, if it weren’t for Tully’s extreme selfishness, I would have enjoyed this book. I like Hannah’s writing and her plot was moving. I appreciated her drawing awareness to cancer and how that was an incredibly personal aspect to her story. I really wanted to like this one, so I’m sad I didn’t.

Summing it up: As much as I enjoy Hannah’s writing, I don’t recommend this book. The one “friend” was too self-obsessed and that was challenging to read. Did anyone else feel the same, or did that not bother you? I’d love to know!!

All the best, Abbey

Leave a Reply

